Turkey Tetrazzini ~ posted by Julia

This is a classic and this recipe is the best. I make it regularly in large batches, with chicken or turkey, so I always have some on hand my freezer.

12 oz pasta, cooked & drained (I like spaghetti or twists)
5 cups diced cooked turkey or chicken
1 1/2 cups chicken or turkey broth
1 1/2 cups evaporated milk
6 Tbsp butter
6 Tbsp flour
Salt and pepper to taste
4 oz cheese, shredded (your favorite)
Peas (optional)
Mushrooms (optional)
Seasoned bread crumbs

Melt butter in a large saucepan. Add flour and stir until well blended and cook a few minutes. Remove from heat and slowly stir in broth and milk, stirring until well blended and smooth. Cook over low heat until thickened. Add cheese and stir until melted. Season as desired.

Mix sauce with chicken, spaghetti and optional peas or mushrooms. Place in a casserole dish (or two) and sprinkle with bread crumbs. Bake at 350 degrees until hot and bubbly.

May be frozen. I freeze it without the bread crumb topping in plastic freezer bags, then thaw and place in a dish for reheating.

Julia s Notes:
*I like to sautee and onion and some garlic in the butter before adding the flour. I skip the peas but add 6 oz of mushrooms to butter. I add Parmesan cheese to my Whole wheat bread crumbs, seasoned bread crumbs or cornflakes (crunched).
*For Christmas, I sautee an onion and a green pepper, chopped and add a 2 oz jar of pimientos.
*Substitute tuna or salmon for the chicken for the chicken.

Leave a Reply

