Nanny’s Applesauce Cake (egg-free) ~ posted by Amy in MD

This is a breakfast recipe staple here given to me by my 95 year old grandmother! I just typed it for a friend and wanted to share.
Amy

Nanny’s Applesauce Cake (no eggs)
1 1/2 cups applesauce (I use unsweetened/she uses sweetened)
1 cup sugar (I use scant – sucanat works well here)
2 cups flour ( when I grind my own soft white wheat, I add a scant 1/4 cup extra)
1 cup raisins (optional)
1/2 cup butter
1 tbs. hot water
2 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. cloves
1 tsp. cinnamon
pinch salt or two pinches

Cream butter and sugar. Add applesauce. Dissolve baking soda in hot water and add to mixture. Add flour, salt, spices and then raisins. I bake for 350 degrees for about 20 – 25 min. This recipe also makes nice cupcakes. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

