Chicken Veggie Soup ~ posted by Rosemary in Colorado

I buy boneless skinless chicken thighs, and I pan fry them, much like stirfrying. While they are cooking, I chop:

always –
Carrots
broccoli
celery
turnip
head of bok choy

sometimes –
cauliflower
summer squash
green onions
mirliton
“new” potato
ummm… trying to think of what else I’ve thrown into veg soup…

When the chicken is done, I remove it to a plate, and throw the vegs into the pot, with the pan drippings from the chicken left in place, on the bottom of the pot. Stir fry for a bit, to – well – to stir fry the vegs, lol. The chicken stuff will turn very dark brown in the process. Add a bit of water to loosen the “stuff”, stir well. Add whatever amount of water you like.

Chop the chicken to your desired degree of fine-ness, and return to the pot. Add a good dash of cayenne. Bring to boil, and boil until it’s as cooked as you like.

We love it made this way. I don’t add any broth, because I just don’t like any of the processed/prepared ones, and good gosh, life’s too short and too busy for me to actually *make* broth!

As the weather has turned colder, I make a giant pot of this every MOnday, and we eat off it until the weekend. In the summer, I make a giant pot of stir fry, in almost the exact same way, without the addition of water, lol.

Cheers!
Rosemary

Leave a Reply

