Homemade Dishwasher Detergent posted by *anj*

 I know that people have asked about something like this a number of times, and I just heard about this one. I intend to try it as soon as my box of Trader Joe’s is used up.
Link to site is below.

In a mason jar, mix:

1 cup borax
1 cup baking soda
1/4 cup salt
1/4 cup citric acid
30 drops citrus essential oil–lemon, grapefruit, orange, tangerine, or a mixture

To use, put a tablespoon or so into the wash cup of your dishwasher. I don’t put it into the pre-wash cup, since that gets wasted.

From my calculations:
Homemade costs about 8 cents a load
Cascade at 22 cents a load

From the website: I have also started putting some of this in a shaker canister–the one I have we got at a restaurant supply, it’s aluminum and was made for popcorn salt. I use it to clean my sink and anything else that I’d normally use Bon Ami on. Works great, and the essential oil makes it smell fantastic.

Leave a Reply

