StaceyinLA’s Wheat Bread

Here’s one. Now I don’t know if you’re grinding your own grains or not, but this one is good. I’m using a Bosch as well, so if you’re doing this by hand, you need to keep that in mind. With a Bosch, it only requires one rising. If you do it by hand, you’ll have to knead, let it rise, then punch it down and form your loaves or whatever, then let it rise again.

2 1/2 c warm water
2 T yeast
1/3 c oil (I use a little less and I use expeller-pressed canola)
1/4 c honey (I use slightly less)
1 heaping T dough enhancer (from Breadbeckers)

Blend all this and let sit a few minutes until foamy.

Add between 6 1/2 – 7 cups flour (one reason I love the Bosch is you don’t have to keep adding flour while kneading and it keeps the loaves lighter), 2 T gluten and 2 t salt.

I let this knead in the Bosch for 6 minutes. I take it out, form it into rolls, loaves, whatever. Let it rise until doubled (takes about 30-40 minutes) then bake at 350.

I use fresh whole wheat flour mixed with spelt, kamut, etc.

Leave a Reply

