Black Bean Soup ~ posted by Anne in Hawaii

Black Bean Soup

2 (15-oz) cans black beans
1 (15-oz) can stewed tomatoes
1 can chicken broth (I usually have the boxed kind on hand and I just fill one of the empty black bean cans with broth and add that. You may want to add more if you like a less thick soup.)
1/2 onion, chopped
1 garlic clove, minced
salt & pepper to taste
1 T. oregano
2 T. lime juice

Combine all ingredients except lime juice in a dutch oven or large pan and simmer until cooked through. Add lime juice to soup just before serving.

I put brown rice in my rice cooker and get this going as I prepare the soup. (I cook my brown rice in chicken broth.) When the brown rice is ready, so is the soup, and I serve the soup over the brown rice. This is a filling and healthful meal — and it’s perfect for Weight Watchers’ Core plan.

Leave a Reply

